The NASUWT with the other school workforce trade unions have negotiated a trade union recognition agreement with E-ACT for consultation and collective bargaining purposes. This provides the necessary structures for the NASUWT to meet with EACT at a national level and on a regular basis in the E-ACT Academies National Joint Council (NJC).

The NJC is where the trade unions meet with E-ACT to negotiate on pay, conditions of service issues and on policies and procedures for teachers and other E-ACT staff.

The NASUWT has agreed the following HR policies and procedures with E-ACT Academies and the other recognised trade unions:

  • E-ACT Absence Management Policy and Procedure;
  • E-ACT Disciplinary Policy Procedure;
  • E-ACT Grievance Policy and Procedure.

Copies of the documents listed above are available on the right/below.

The above policies and procedures have been agreed by the NASUWT on the condition that they apply to E-ACT staff that have accepted and signed the E-ACT contract.

If you transferred your employment to E-ACT from a predecessor school that was subsequently replaced by an E-ACT academy, the policies and procedures that were in operation at your previous school will apply where there is a contractual entitlement for this to happen.

Advice should be sought from your Local Association Secretary or Regional Centre to confirm which policy or procedure will apply to you.

Teachers' Pay in E-ACT Academies

The NASUWT seeks to ensure that members in academy schools have, at least, the equivalent pay award to teachers in other maintained schools. Teachers working in an E-ACT academy should continue to receive the same pay increase and benefits as teachers in the maintained sector.