The NASUWT is a union led by teachers for teachers.

The main decision-making body of the Union consists of five National Officers who are elected by NASUWT members to serve a four-year cycle and the National Executive Committee who represent their District of the United Kingdom.

The day-to-day running of the NASUWT is the responsibility of the General Secretary Team.