NASUWT Activist Awards 2022 - Deadline

Friday 14 January 2022

If there’s someone you would like to nominate for one of the 2022 NASUWT Activist Awards, don’t forget the closing date for nominations is only a few days away now.

The Award

The Eamonn O’Kane Young Activist of the Year Award was created to:

  • encourage activism amongst young members;

  • recognise and celebrate the outstanding contribution of young members to the work of the NASUWT;

  • provide award winners with opportunities to broaden and develop their knowledge and experience of the NASUWT and the wider trade union movement.


The nominee will have been successful in one or more of the areas listed below:

  • heightened the NASUWT’s profile;

  • promoted the work of the NASUWT;

  • increased the membership of the NASUWT;

  • organised members in a workplace or wider constituency;

  • promoted trade union activism in a workplace or wider constituency;

  • delivered identifiable benefits to members and/or the NASUWT as an organisation.

Members should log in to use our Young Activist of the Year Award Nomination Form.

2021 Young Activist Award

Ronan Sharkey, Armagh/Craigavon Association, has been involved at all levels of the Union’s democratic structure, including growing membership of the NASUWT, being the Local Association Vice-President and Social Media Manager, becoming a member of the NASUWT Northern Ireland Health and Safety and Executive Committees, and participating in local and national conferences. And he’s still only 28!

Ronan Sharkey wins Young Activist of the Year Award 2021

Previous year’s winners

Click/tap through the galleries to see previous winners.