2024 Health and Safety Awards

Nominations for the Health and Safety Award are open all year round.

The closing date for nominations for the 2024 Award is Friday 19 January 2024.

Nominations made after the closing date will automatically be entered for consideration for the following year’s awards.

Please use the form on the right/below to make as many nominations as you want.

2023 Health and Safety Representative Award

The Health and Safety Representative of the Year Award was presented at Annual Conference 2023 to William Reynolds of Bannerman School in Glasgow.

William Reynolds of Bannerman School, Glasgow (second left)

William led his members through a very difficult few years, encouraging members to report incidents or problematic pupil behaviour and, for more serious matters, the employer's violence reporting forms, providing a solid evidence base with which to challenge the council.

NASUWT members voted for and began to implement action short of strike action in November 2022. This was escalated to strike action and, after four days of strikes, the school and employer eventually agreed a series of proposals to address member concerns around their health and safety. 

The nomination said, ‘Throughout, William supported and encouraged members, helping to keep our action strong and leading to our eventual success.’

The Award

NASUWT Health and Safety Representatives and Co-ordinators do sterling work, effectively utilising health and safety legislation to raise issues and ensuring resolutions are enacted by management.

The NASUWT is at the forefront of protecting the health, safety and welfare of teachers.

Teachers cannot teach and learners cannot learn in school premises that are unsafe, whether that is due to a poor physical environment, the actions or inactions of management, or the poor behaviour of learners.

The criteria

The Health and Safety Representative Award is made each year to an individual judged to have made an exceptional contribution and shown outstanding effectiveness in their role as an NASUWT Health and Safety Representative.

Each nomination should include:

  • details of the most significant achievements in the area of health and safety;

  • information concerning the difference the nominee made for NASUWT members as a result of being an NASUWT Health and Safety Representative;

  • a brief statement on why the nominee became an NASUWT Health and Safety Representative;

  • details of how the nominee made a positive difference to teachers within the school or workplace.

The winner is presented with a plaque and £1,000 for their school during an awards ceremony at the NASUWT Annual Conference.

2022 Health and Safety Representative Award

The Health and Safety Representative of the Year Award was presented at Annual Conference 2022 to Brian Pearson from the Carlisle Association.

Brian Pearson from the Carlisle Association

Brian played an invaluable role during the pandemic offering individual and collective support, advice and guidance to NASUWT members with health and safety concerns. He supported and represented many members with risk assessments and maternity concerns, as well as overseeing classroom surveys on CO2 and ventilation. Brian also took on a wider role, representing the Union at council briefings and meetings to advocate for members’ health and safety in the workplace.