

# PROGRAMME

Scotland Conference 2025

# NASUWT Scotland Conference 2025 FRIDAY 2 – SATURDAY 3 MAY

## PROGRAMME

## Friday 2 May

- 12:00 Introductory session how Conference works (including how to use the Conference App to participate)
- 12:30 **Keynote address** Jenny Gilruth, Cabinet Secretary for Education and Skills (followed by Question & Answer session)

## 13:30 Buffet lunch

#### 14:15 **Public Session 1:**

- Opening of Conference President, Sarah Walker
- Induction of new Scotland Executive Council President, David Anderson
- New SEC President's address
- Adoption of Standing Orders
- Appointment of Scrutineer
- Debate of Motions:
  - Scotland Officers: Far-Right Extremism and Hate Crimes
  - SEC Policy Committee: Parity of Esteem for All Secondary Pupils
  - Balloted Motions

#### 15:45 Break

## 16:00 **Public Session 2:**

- Speech: Roz Foyer, General Secretary, STUC
  - Debate of Motions:
    - Scotland Officers: Dual Presentation at National 4 and National 5
      SEC Policy Committee: 'Teaching in a Vacuum': Supply Teacher Health, Safety and Wellbeing
       Balloted Motions

#### 17:00 **Private Session**

- Election of Temporary Vice-President and Scotland Treasurer
- Minutes of Scotland Conference 2024 Scotland Officers
- SEC Annual Report National Executive Members
- SEC Financial Report SEC Treasurer
- 17:30 Close of Business for day
- 19:00 Drinks reception and presentations
- 20:00 Annual dinner

# NASUWT Scotland Conference 2025 FRIDAY 2 – SATURDAY 3 MAY

## PROGRAMME

## Saturday 3 May

## 09:30 **Public Session 3:**

- Speech: Deputy General Secretary, Jane Peckham (followed by Question & Answer session)
- Debate of Motions:
  - Scotland Officers: School Security
  - SEC Policy Committee: Staffing: a Crisis Covered Up?
  - Balloted Motions
- 10:45 Break

## 11:00 **Public Session 4:**

- Debate of Motions:
  - SEC Policy Committee: Data in Primary Schools
  - SEC Policy Committee: ASN Support in Schools
  - Balloted Motions

## 12:30 Lunch

## 13:15 Public Session 5:

- Debate of remaining Balloted Motions
- Speech: National Official, Mike Corbett
- Vote of Thanks

## 15:00 Close of Conference