We detected you haven’t selected to personalise the site.

Please select a preference

Responding to the announcement of the membership of the Teachers’ Pay Review Body in Wales, Chris Keates, General Secretary of the NASUWT - the largest teachers’ union in Wales, said:

“The NASUWT welcomed the fact that following representations from the NASUWT, the Welsh Government decided to establish an independent Review Body to support the determination of teachers’ pay and conditions in Wales.

“The announcement of the members of the Welsh Review Body is equally welcome, as this means that their work on ensuring the teachers’ pay system recognises and rewards them as highly skilled professionals, and their working conditions enable them to focus on teaching and learning.

“The Review Body will need to win the confidence of teachers by demonstrating from day one its independence from Government and that its recommendations are evidence driven.

“The NASUWT looks forward to engaging with the Review Body and developing a constructive working relationship in the interests of teachers and children and young people across Wales."

The members of the Review Body are:

  • Mrs Sharron Lusher – Chair
  • Dr Emyr Roberts – Member
  • Mr Gareth Pierce – Member
  • Professor Maria Hinfelaar – Member
  • Professor Stephen Wilks – Member
  • Mrs Gillian Murgatroyd – Member
  • Dr John Graystone – Member
  • Mr Simon Brown – Member


Please confirm

Please login

Please login

To use this feature you need to be logged in, please login now to continue