We detected you haven’t selected to personalise the site.

Please select a preference

The winners of NASUWT’s 14th annual Arts and Minds Competition, featuring artwork and creative writing promoting issues of race equality and diversity, have been announced.
Chosen by celebrity judge, TV star Gok Wan, the winners were selected from hundreds of entries submitted by primary, secondary and special schools from across the UK.
The overall winners of the prestigious awards, which are open to all pupils across the UK aged 4-18, each receive prize vouchers and £1,000 for their school.  :
Primary School: Matthew Hill (Year 3), Mepal & Witcham Primary School, Cambridgeshire, for his poem “A Dream”
Secondary School: Class S3 (Year 10) Inverclyde Academy, for their piece of art “Diversity Rug”
Special School: Brendan Woods (Year 11), The Pheonix Trust Academy, Lincolnshire, for his poem “A Rap Init”
Anne Frank Poetry Award: Anai Ganatra, (Year 8) Henrietta Barnett School
Chris Keates, General Secretary of the NASUWT, said: “Congratulations to all the years’ winners, and shortlisted finalists, the quality of work they all produced was outstanding, and they should all be proud at not just the artistic talent they have displayed, but also how their pieces really inspire and make the audience think about this issue.”
“Every entry was highly creative and clever in its interpretation of the messaging behind the competition, so the judges had great difficulty in choosing the winners.
“The quality of entries is a credit to the skills and abilities of the pupils and their teachers and support staff.
“The NASUWT is proud to organise the Arts & Minds competition which is an effective and enjoyable way of promoting and celebrating cultural diversity.

Watch Gok explain why he chose the winners and how impressed he was with all the entrants:

Complete List of 2017 Arts & Minds Winners:
Primary School:
Winner: Matthew Hill, Mepal and Witcham Primary School
Finalists: Kayla Bannister, St William of Perth School, Rochester
                  Year 5, Corrie Primary and Nursery School, Manchester
Secondary School:
Winner:  Class S3, Inverclyde Academy
Finalists: Nikita Bavisha, Henrietta Barnett School
                 Joanna Fang, Henrietta Barnett School
                 Mattea Tettey-Enyon, King Edward VI High School for Girls
                 Ercall Wood Technology College
                 Fivemiletown College/St Ciaran’s College
Special School:
Winner: Brendan Woods, The Pheonix Academy Trust
Finalists:  Progress Unit, Conisborough College
                  Curtis Roberts, St Christopher’s High School Wrexam
Anne Frank Poetry Award Winner: Anai Ganatra, Henrietta Barnett School



Please confirm

Please login

Please login

To use this feature you need to be logged in, please login now to continue